Educational Insights

Hot Dots Jr Let's Master Reading - Pre-K

Hot Dots Jr Let's Master Reading - Pre-K is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_EDI-2390, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schooloutfitters

$29.99

SKU: EDI-2390

Calculate Shipping

Shipping Estimate*

Estimated Shipping Cost:
Product Cost:
Estimated Total Cost:

Loading

*Why is this cost estimated? Shipping & handling costs on many larger items depend on variables such as whether you have a loading dock and whether you need help getting your merchandise off the truck.

Share:

Select Options:

Includes: 2 books w/ 85 pre-k reading lessons & 15 challenge sessions
Talking interactive pen (pen requires 2 AAA batteries, not included)
Material: Plastic
Warranty: None
Assembly: Assembled
Other Info: Nonreturnable
Product Weight (Lbs): 1.2
Shipping Method: UPS / FedEx

Educational Insights' Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Reading features a talking, teaching pen that guides kids through lessons on a variety of reading skills. The playful, interactive lessons challenge their reading abilities, offers confidence-building feedback and encourages interaction between children and teachers.

loading...
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She really liked it! My granddaughter is 4 and is very enthused with this set. She really likes Ace the dog pen, she tries to get away with just playing with it when she starts getting tired of learning. We use this set when it is raining or her siblings have an activity and she doesn't. I like it because it is a fun way for her to get ready for Kindergarten. It keeps her attention for about 25 minutes. Due to the fact that we don't have it out to use at will I think has a lot to do with how much she likes the set. I was given this set in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it!!! Omg!!! I DEFINITELY recommend everyone to get this for your preschooler transitioning in kindergarten! My 5 year old will be starting kindergarten soon, so this was amazing to keep her entertained & help her practice all her letters and sounds. She definitely loves Ace! ( & so do I! ) He's really helpful identifying the correct shape and helps motivate my daughter. She definitely loves it and so do I!! This set keeps her entertained for about an hour as it has 2 booklets, she loves it. What more can I say!
Date published: 2020-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great workbooks to reinforce reading skills for a 4 year old Since my 6 year old is remote learning this semester, I had to get something for my 4 year old to feel like she was in "school" too! With the two workbooks and the dog pen, my 4 year old sitting next to her older sister feels special AND is actually learning something too! I was surprised at how quickly my 4 year old picked this up and went through the workbooks. The activities were simple but reinforced the basics that my 4 year old needs to start learning to read. I only wish it came with more workbooks!
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes learning fun! Hot Dogs Jr. has been an essential part of our homeschool preschool. We didn't plan on homeschooling and obviously this year has thrown us a curve ball. As two full-time working parents, this product is a quick and efficient non-screentime activity. That categories take our on the fly preschool curriculum from just boring activity sheets to an actual fun activity. The sections are easy enough for my almost 4 year old to understand but still enough of a challenge to make her improve her skills. Sequencing and rhyming have been her favorite categories so far. Little brother, who is 2 also gets to join in the fun with help. He knows his colors and so he was able to do the color words review section with guided help from mom & dad. We'll definitely be purchasing more of these activity books!
Date published: 2020-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great when it works, but breaks quickly We got this for my daughter for Christmas. She loved it, but just a couple of months later it began to say that every answer is wrong. Very frustrating. Certainly wouldn't have bought it if I knew it was only going to last 2 months.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great interactive toy for preschool age kids! My daughter is almost 4 and so excited for pre-school! Unfortunately this hasn't been possible due to COVID. We got her this toy in the hopes that she would do some learning on her own, and with us, at home. She loves it! She has so much fun learning with this game and feels great about herself when the cute puppy pen tells her she did got the answer right. It can be a challenge to find a way for your kid to learn while also having fun. This toy is the answer and a great price for what it does.
Date published: 2020-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My girls loved it BUT.... Both of my girls loved this when it was working. The light up eyes and noises were great. Stopped working about 2 and a half months after we opened it. Changed batteries, wiped the tip, still nothing. Of course it being a gift,the purchaser couldn't remember where they bought it or if they had retained a receipt. Wasteful, I have the books but nothing to use them with. Very dissappointed
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Kids who May not want to learn My preschool son is not one who really likes to sit down to learn. He LOVES this product. He really thinks he is playing a game, loves playing with the dog. I love it because he is learning reading activities that are geared towards his age. The puppy pen really makes this a hit with him. Glad I found something to help him learn and additional books for other subjects can be bought. Being a stay at home mom getting him to do educational activities is tough, but not with this!
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Pre-Readers My daughter has been very stubborn about learning her letters and developing her pre-reading skills. I was just about ready to give up when I decided to give the Hot Dots, Jr. Pre-K reading set a try. I am so glad I did. She loves using Ace, the talking dog to try to match letters, sequence, match colors and practice spelling words in book one. I haven't introduced Book Two to her yet because I want her to focus on mastering one book before she moves to another book. Ace the Talking Dog uses sounds, music and/or words to encourage my daughter to keep trying when she chooses wrong and to reward her when she gets the answer right. I have been thankful to have a method for her to practice her letters and pre-reading skills without resorting to flash cards or other learning methods that only feel like work to her.
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun AND Educational! I'm a teacher and a mom of three boys and I received this product for my three-year-old twins. They LOVE dogs, so the doggie pen was PERFECT for them! There is a such a variety of skills covered in this product, which I love as a teacher, and my boys think it's fun too, so that's important as well. One of their favorite activities is the sequencing, or what happens next? I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a great learning activity for a preschooler.
Date published: 2014-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for learning your child's ability. My son just started Kindergarten and we were told he was a little behind on his letter skills, so we got this and the Kindergarten set to help him along. He definitely had the Pre-K skills down but it did help us identify which letters he has difficulty with. We've always had a tough time getting him to sit down with us and do any learning based activity, but he absolutely loved this and whizzed through both books one after the other. The puppy was a big hit, and the activities were a big hit. It's a nice simple set of alphabet skills for the Pre-K, and could even be used by toddlers to start them on the path. I love the dynamic of the Hot Dots set, they engage my son, and give me something to work on him. I am by no means a teacher but this is something I felt able to do with him, encourage him in and not worry about whether I was doing it right. His interest in it was a big help.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would recommend this product to others. I bought this product for my 3 year old and my 5 year old. Both are pre-readers and are working on phonics and letters. This product is great for them to work on letter and recognizing 3 letter words. They love the pen and how it gives them a green light and happy cheer when they get the answer correct. This produce is very easy to use and my kids wake up in the morning and grab this toy right away.
Date published: 2020-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confidence for kids Love the Pre-K Reading. This is the perfect tool for my son who has a speech delay. He loves working with Ace and it makes it a little easier that Ace is telling him when he's wrong instead of my. He gets so excited with he gets one right and that just makes me smile. He may not be able to say the answers but it's helping him in self confidence and that makes me happy.
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for learning letters and beyond This has been the perfect learning tool for my 4 yr old son! He knows his capital letters, but has trouble with his lower case letters. There are a couple of sections that cover that and he's progressed a lot because of the book. I was pleasantly surprised to find that along with that are more difficult sections that he can work up to. I feel like this is a toy we can use for a long time. He is loving all the pictures in the books, learning his letters, and especially loves the silly noises that come from the dog pen. It takes a little coaching at first, but after he figures out a section he is able to do it independently. I've seen some negative reviews on the product, but it seems unrealistic to expect a toy to teach something to your child without some guidance. My 2 yr old son also loves the books and I can use them for teaching him words in general, because the pictures are great. Already recommended these to a friend!
Date published: 2020-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fun and educational! I have a 2.5 year old and she loves this! So far we have only gotten through the first book but the skill level is just right for her. Challenging but still allows her to utilize her current knowledge of letters. This has also helped in differentiating between upper and lower case. I've found most books/puzzles group them together. Would highly recommend!
Date published: 2020-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work My son received this as a gift from his grandparents. The pen worked the first couple times he used it and since then it indicates every answer as wrong. Not a very positive learning tool for a 3 year old. It is hard for him to understand that even though he is touching the correct answer, the dog pen is the one that is incorrect.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Educational and Fun! Great Product! My 4 1/2 year old son loves these! He picks it up on his own and flips through the books to do the activities. He loves the positive reinforcement and the challenge. It's such a clever way for him to learn but have fun at the same time. And I'm really glad that we can buy other books as he continues to grow. Great product!
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Love this product! Great way to help my son with learning to read, all while having fun. Also, great product to travel with and take on the road. Small enough to fit in a small back pack without it being to bulky and taking up to much space. Really helps with learning letters. Overall, very happy with the product.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Learning Tool This has been a great learning tool for my pre-school aged son and he really enjoys using it. Hot Dots Jr. does a very good job at creating content that is both engaging and fun for children. I could not be more pleased with the results I am seeing and improvements my son has by because of using this!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boys love these! My preschooler LOVES this! He laughs every time the dog makes a noise. It's perfect for word/picture recognition and totally age appropriate. He loves to "work" in his Hot Dot books while his big brother is doing his homework. The boys love that they can take it with them in the car.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to our classroom We love this item. Its a great way to review the children's skills. I LOVE that its all together! We have some Hot Dot cards but I like this format far better. The only thing I'd like to see different is if the pen would work in a tilted position to promote proper pencil grip.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for prek We received this set several months ago and my 5 year old still loves to play with it. She likes the immediate reinforcement of the sounds and enjoys working through the book independently. I hope to buy more hotdot books and use them as she advances through PreK and K skills.
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun way to introduce reading Great way to help them learn reading without making it feel like work. Hot Dots Jr. is such a fun way to learn and kids like the fun they have while reading. Parents love the learning and that makes this set a great way to introduce your kids to Hot Dots Jr way of learning.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great educational & fun way to learn! We received this item for review. My four year was eager to begin learning and practice math. He still needs help with the reading, but can easily find the answers himself! I consider this a great tool for reinforcing skills at home!
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pen indicates every answer is correct Five minutes out of the box, the pen indicates that all answers are correct. We put in brand new batteries. My son received this as a Christmas present. Hopefully, my sister still has the receipt.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun with Reading My granddaughter's just love learning how to read with Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Pre-K Reading. The books are very educational and my granddaughter takes it everywhere with her.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Beginner Readers Kids loved the interactivity of these books, easy to pick up on and master basic reading skills. The dog was fun and kept the kids laughing even as they were learning.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kept my 3.5 yo engaged 3.5 year old son enjoyed playing with this. He would say "I did it!" when he got an answer right or would keep trying if it wasn't correct.
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dog pen doesn't work Properly installed batteries, (checked twice) pen does not work. Very disappointing for a young child. Very disappointing for the parents.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Educational Fun A great toy to have when mom needs to get dinner made or the laundry put away! :) Educational fun that keeps them going!
Date published: 2014-10-25
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_EDI-2390, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schooloutfitters
close
loading...
Accepted Payment Types:
Join the Conversation:
Shop with Confidence:
Better Business Bureau®
Loading...