Educational Insights

Hot Dots Jr Let's Master Reading - Kindergarten

Hot Dots Jr Let's Master Reading - Kindergarten is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 36.
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_EDI-2391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schooloutfitters

$29.99

SKU: EDI-2391

Calculate Shipping

Shipping Estimate*

Estimated Shipping Cost:
Product Cost:
Estimated Total Cost:

Loading

*Why is this cost estimated? Shipping & handling costs on many larger items depend on variables such as whether you have a loading dock and whether you need help getting your merchandise off the truck.

Share:

Select Options:

Includes: 2 books w/ 85 kindergarten reading lessons & 15 challenge sessions
Talking interactive pen (pen requires 2 AAA batteries, not included)
Material: Plastic
Warranty: None
Assembly: Assembled
Other Info: Nonreturnable
Product Weight (Lbs): 1.2
Shipping Method: UPS / FedEx

Educational Insights' Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Reading features a talking, teaching pen that guides kids through lessons on a variety of reading skills. The playful, interactive lessons challenge their reading abilities, offers confidence-building feedback and encourages interaction between children and teachers.

loading...
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help Your Child Find A Love For Learning The Hot Dots Jr. Kindergarten Reading set is a great way to continue to work with you child after school without them feeling like they are doing worksheets or homework. It will help them with small words, sounds, punctuation, and grammar. I am a firm believer that parents need to put in time with their children outside of school to not only help them learn but help them find a love for learning. Using this set will give your child the knowledge they need to feel successful in school. Ace the Talking Dog pen helps them know if their answers are correct or not but does not take the place of a parent. This set has instructions and problems that parents should be explain and help coach their child through.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for developing reading skills I received the Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Kindergarten Reading set for review purposes. Just like the other sets we've tried, this one is right on target with Kindergarten reading skills. We just got the entire line, and I wish we had it sooner. I would have loved to have used this with my older daughter last year when she was in Kindergarten. But it will be perfect for helping my younger daughter when she starts Kindergarten next year. She's working on the Pre-K set now and as soon as she masters that set, she'll be moving onto this one. This is a great line for little learners.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and Educational -This product arrived in a brightly colored package with a cute dog "pen" included. There were two books with the set. My daughter is in Kindergarten and while working with her on book one, she thought it was funny when the pen vibrated with the third correct item. She stated that she thought it was cool because you can press it. I liked that we were able to work together on it as there were a few words that were new to her. On top of using the product as intended, she took it a step further and pointed out patterns with the letters in the alphabet section.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tool for the classroom Hot Dots Jr. Reading has been fabulous for my Kindergartners. They use it independently with very little help from me. They like that it tells them if they are correct or incorrect. The skills are tied to our Learning Objectives and are age-appropriate. I have two children work on the Hot Dots Jr. together during centers time. It really is a "Top Choice" in my classroom.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Set My niece is in Kindergarten and loves these books. She uses them every time she comes over. She gets so proud when her answers are correct and blames the dog pen when they are wrong. It is so cute. She needs a little assistance but she wouldn't get use of the set if she didn't. She loves her dog pen and pretends to put him to bed when we are finished. This set keeps her attention for about a half hour. I have seen her learn right in front of me. I received this set for a honest and unbiased review.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps Prepare For Kindergarten! My four year old son will be starting kindergarten next fall and I wanted to start preparing him. This his been a fantastic resource to help introduce him to the things he will need to know when starting kindergarten. He always is much more engaged in learning activities that are fun and Hot Dots Jr. is exactly that... fun! This has helped build his confidence and is something he know asks to use, instead of having to be told it's learning time. Such a great product that I highly recommend!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My children loved it, until the pen stopped working My children loved the item until the pen stopped working and was saying everything was incorrect. It was very frustrating for my son with special needs because "he knew" it was right.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product makes learning fun Received this in exchange for an honest review. As soon as this arrived on our doorstep my daughter couldn't wait to tear it open. She loves how the dog pen speaks with her answer and was laughing at some of the phrases. I love how it coordinates with what she is currently learning in school, such as word families and comprehension. And it's wonderful that it's reusable so her answers aren't gone when her brother is old enough to use it.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from READ THIS REVIEW IF PEN ALWAYS SAYS INCORRECT! I FIXED IT! First, let me say that there are no instructions required for this to work. When it's working properly the pen should automatically respond correct or incorrect accordingly when a dot in the notebook is lightly presses with the black tip. I was pulling my hair out and convinced we were doing something wrong until I read on here that many people were having the same problem with the pen always responding that the answer is incorrect. Read below for the quick fix. I took the pen apart and discovered the black tip was sticking out way too far for it to function. There's a contact pad (similar to a remote control button) that the tip must contact for it to work properly. Ours was sticking out almost 1/4" when we got it. If yours is like this, the tip needs to be pushed in until it's sticking out only 1/16"-1/8". The way it's designed, you can't just push the black tip in, but luckily you don't need to take it apart to fix it either. Just wedge a very small flatblade screwdriver between the tip and the plastic on the front (dog's face) side. You MUST insert the screwdriver on this side or the opposite side of the tip for this fix to work. Then, gently push the screwdriver inward (up toward the dog's head) and push on the black tip at the same time in the same direction. You'll know when to stop because the tip will bottom out. You may need to remove the batteries to reset it, but it should be working correctly once you put it the batteries back in and try to use it again. I hope this helps someone else!
Date published: 2021-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun way for kids to learn K Language art skills This is the perfect product to help prepare kids for kindergarten language arts skills. My 5 year old loves doing hot dots sets and I feel they have really helped her to keep learning at home in a fun way! This set includes two books with 100 lessons on language art skills like upper/lower case letters, beginning consonants, ending consonants, short/long vowels and sight words. I really like how the Ace pen provides immediate feedback so she can do these lessons on her own as well as with me. Hot dots are the perfect alternative or addition to workbooks and work sheets. Personally, I think my 5 year old is too young still to only be doing work sheets/work books (because learning should be fun at this young age!) so I love how hot dots provides a fun way to learn! I'm so glad we got this for my 5 year old because she will be more than ready for kindergarten in the fall!
Date published: 2020-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a fun way to practice reading!! We are LOVING this Hot Dots reading set!! It cones with an interactive dog shaped pen and 2 books to interact with. One book is easy for my kindergartener (but perfect for my almost 3 year old). The second book is right at his level. I love that he can do these independently during quiet time or in the car without needing me- and he's learning!! I highly recommend this set!!
Date published: 2020-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO cute for kids! This is so great for my daughter! we use these every night, and she gets better and better with her skills. She loves how if she gets it wrong, she is coached to try again. if she gets it right, she gets a reward! She loves this game an I think that It is a great way for her to learn at her own pace and focus on her personal learning needs outside of the classroom.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Learning tool! I got the Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Kindergarten Reading kit for my son and I love it! It comes with the Ace the Talking Teaching Dog Hot Dots Pen and two of the Hot Dots workbooks. There is so much for my son to do in the workbooks, it has questions and each has a multiple choice answers with a black dot next to it. Then my son just uses the Hot Dots pen to pick his answer. When he gets the right answer the pen turns green and when it is wrong it turns red. He really enjoys school work so this is great to keep him learning. So this is a great way to continue learning when he is not in school. It is really easy to use. He is learning letter recognition, reading readiness, phonics, sight words, punctuation & grammar. And it is all fun so he doesn't even think of it as learning, which is great for me. There are over 100 lessons so he doesn't get bored with it. This is worth every penny! I really love the Hot Dots jr collection!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this product! This Hot Dots set was amazing! Really, I would like more of them now. My son was excited the moment he saw the box, and even more so when he realized the pen makes sounds when you get an answer right or wrong. Oh, and did I mention that he doesn't normally want to sit down to do homework? I just love finding products where kids can learn while having fun.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Extra Practice for Early Reading *I received this product free of cost to facilitate my review. All opinions are my own. This has been such a big hit in our home! I definitely think it is age level appropriate and is right on target with what Kindergartners are learning today. There is a lot of letter/sound recognition which is perfect for reading beginners. The dog is fun and lights up green when the correct answer is chosen, and red when the wrong answer is chosen. My daughter loves the dog pen and when he barks at her. I like that the books are a spiral book and are sturdy. Phonics and sight words are heavily pushed in Kindergarten these days, so this is great extra practice for my daughter! Overall, my daughter loves this Hot Dots Jr set and gets excited to "play" with. I can tell she really is learning and gets excited when she gets the right answers, which is also building her confidence in reading. We are both happy with this set and recommend it for all 4-5 year old girls and boys.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value, easy to use - tech that doesn't involve a screen We wanted something to supplement remote learning and this is a good option that is easy to use. Our kindergartner can do this on his own once we get him started. I like the spiral notebook because it makes it lie flat unlike other workbooks. This is a good way to use technology that doesn't involve a screen.
Date published: 2020-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Educational Interactive Toy! My 5 year old son loved this educational toy! We have never tried Hot Dots before, but we will definitely be trying more of these products. The pen makes it fun and interactive and there was very minimal instruction he needed to figure out what each page was asking. It's also great in the car!
Date published: 2020-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my kindergartener This product is perfect for my kindergartener! She is starting to identify her letter sounds and associate it with words/pictures and her progress has improved because of this! She loves that the pen makes fun sounds and loves the interactive element of it. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great choice My kindergartener loves playing with the doggie pen. He especially loves it when it's eyes flashes green indicating that his answer is correct. This really helps build his reading confidence. He has moved on to reading everything that comes across his eyes. I love it!
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reading Fun with Ace Ace makes learning fun with this continuation of reading introduction. With 100 lessons they will be kept busy and ask to keep "working" because they are enjoying the fun. Must have to add on to other Hot Dot Jr. sets you may already own.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My son loves it! My special needs son is picking up reading using Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Kindergarten Reading. He loves to learn with it and when I tell him it's time to do some reading there are no more fights with him to get him to practice. LOVE it!
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allows for independent learning. This is a cute learning set that does require 2 aaa batteries to work which are not included. The cute talking dog wand makes sounds when the child answers correct or incorrectly. I love that this allows the child to learn independently.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Teacher Approved Resource! The Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Kindergarten Reading kit from Educational Insights is a definite buy for any incoming or current Kindergartener. As a Kindergarten teacher, my students absolutely loved this kit. The kit comes with two, durable, high quality books and a talking, teaching dog pen named Ace! I use the reading kit in my daily classroom centers. My students love the automatic feedback Ace gives when they identify the correct answer. The students enjoyed the Hot Dots Jr. so much that they often think they're just playing a fun game, but little do they know, they're learning too! This kit is a great independent center activity that works on many of the skills taught in Kindergarten. I absolutely love how this kit provides 15 challenging reading lessons for advanced learners too! The books provide a lot of letter and sound recognition that is great for beginning readers. It is easy to transport and can easily fit into any bag, purse, backpack, etc. for great activities on the go! Overall, I would highly recommend this kit to any parent, teacher, or child. My students were so eager to learn with the Hot Dots Jr. Reading Kit and I love it too!
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My daughter loves all the Hot Dot sets. We are definitely going to buy more!
Date published: 2021-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good tool until the pen stopped working Loved it until the pen started saying "incorrect " to everything.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than an app! We used this set to follow on from the Hot Dots Pre K set and it was a really nice build on to the earlier books. My son had raced through the Pre K set no problem, and it illustrated which letters he struggled with. I found that working through the Kindergarten set (he just started Kindergarten this year) really let me see how far along he has come since September and identify more clearly what he needs to work on, and what he is simply lazy with. The activities are a little more challenging than the Pre-K set, which definitely helped hold his attention. He did start to get frustrated doing the whole alphabet through for each activity, but he never tires of using the puppy pen, and so it was no trouble to keep going. He would switch out with the Owl from his fairy tales set, and thought that was hilarious. We go through this about once a week, and he still enjoys the activities. The mechanism of Hot Dots is really great for his age group, and I enjoy doing this with him, more than I have enjoyed some of the apps we purchased him for our Ipad. The physicality of it is a bonus, holding an actual book and an actual pen with him feels much nicer than swiping the screen. I like that it is tactile in its approach to learning.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great learning product My daughter was very excited when we got the option to try this product out. She is in KG this year and her teacher told me that she likes to focus on reading the most at this age. We opened the box and my daughter loved that the pen looks like a dog. We got the batteries put in and she started using it right away. Ace the dog lights up green or red depending on if the child gets the answer correct. He also makes different sounds. The books are perfectly on track with what she is learning in KG with letter recognition at the beginning, different sounds of letters in words and matching them to other ones, beginning letters, sight words, color words, and number words. There is also a section of challenges in the back. While she can do this on her own, it's a good product for a parent to sit with their child and help. There were some pictures that she had to ask me specifically what they were. Like the cot, and I would encourage her to sound words out and help. We have had this for a week and when she comes home from school she likes to get it out and do it. Which I love because she is having fun and learning too. It would be nice to be able to order more books to go along with it to continue the lessons. Once she has learned all from the two books it came with, it won't be a challenge anymore. I would love a book full of just sight words. They are the hardest to learn since they can't be sounded out and we have a huge list that we are working on. My final impression of this product is that it is a great learning set that my daughter has fun using. We received this product free from the company to test out but all the reviews are mine and my child's.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for Kindergarteners I received Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Kindergarten Reading free for review. All opinions are my own. Hot Dots Jr. Let's Master Kindergarten Reading includes Ace the Talking Teaching Dog Hot Dots Pen and two Hot Dots workbooks. The workbooks include questions, and multiple choice answers with a black dot next to each possible response. Your child will use the Hot Dots pen to select an answer by vertically pressing down on one of the dots. If the answer is correct a positive reinforcement will be heard and the pen will light up green. If the answer is wrong, a try again message will sound and the pen will light up red. The Kindergarten Reading books cover topics such as letter recognition, reading readiness, phonics, sight words as well as punctuation and grammar. My 6 year old started with the Kindergarten Reading books to see how she could do and flew through them. She was done in less than 30 minutes with both books. She immediately grabbed the 1st grade reading books to try out after that which gave her more of a challenge. My 4 year old started out with the Pre-K Reading books, got through them with some concentration and then moved on to the Kindergarten books to give them a spin. They were just a bit too hard for her. She could get through most of Kindergarten book 1, but then had trouble with book 2. With both of these age assessments on my kids I would agree with their placement of age 5+ on the Kindergarten reading set. Overall this is a great supplemental kit for teaching kindergarten age kids reading. The pages are durable and made to last through repeated use. These books can be used as a teaching tool and as a review for previous concepts to reinforce those ideas. I recommend this kit to anyone with a kindergarten aged child. It's a great introduction to math for them.
Date published: 2014-11-14
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_EDI-2391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_schooloutfitters
close
loading...
Accepted Payment Types:
Join the Conversation:
Shop with Confidence:
Better Business Bureau®
Loading...